Constitution of AAGUS
The Barringer Medal
The Keyes Medal
Annual Dues
Annual Meeting
American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons

The Spence Medal

The Spence Medal is of bronze and was created in 1994 to honor Dr. Harry M. Spence. This medal is to be awarded for outstanding achievements in Urology. Unlike the Keyes and Barringer Medals, the Spence Medal may be awarded to Corresponding/International Members.

Recipients of the Spence Medal have been:

  • 2016 - Fran Debruyne
  • 2015 - Logan Holtgrewe
  • 2014 - Paul Abrams
  • 2012 - Michael Marberger
  • 2010 - John M. Fitzpatrick
  • 2009 - Michael E. Mitchell
  • 2008 - Urs S. Studer
  • 2007 - Martin Resnick
  • 2006 - Fritz Schröder
  • 2005 - Jack McAninch
  • 2004 – Richard Hautmann
  • 2003 – Terry Allen
  • 2002 – Mohamed Ghoneim
  • 2001 – Georg Bartsch
  • 1997 – Richard Turner-Warwick
  • 1996 – Paul C. Peter

There is no obligation to award either medal in a specific year, however, at the 1972 Council Meeting, it was decreed that both medals should not be awarded at the same meeting. It was stipulated at that time that previous recipients for the Barringer Medal could and should be considered candidates for the Keyes Medal.

The Awards Committee is composed of the two most recent Past-Presidents and current President with the first of the Past Presidents as Chairman. The decision of the Committee should be forwarded to the Secretary by November preceding the meeting because the medals require considerable time for preparation.

The Chairman of the Awards Committee makes the presentation at the annual banquet. He must send a copy of the citation (ready for the printer) and a recent photograph of the recipient indicating to whom the letter should be returned if necessary.


For Contact Infomation See the Home Page